Latest news

Zelenskyy: Ukraine in Talks with Seven More Countries for Bilateral Security Agreements

President Zelenskyy announced in his evening address on May 1 that Ukraine is in the process of developing bilateral security agreements with seven additional countries.

Since the inception of the Group of Seven (G7) Joint Declaration of Support for Ukraine, over 30 nations have pledged solidarity. Among them, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Denmark, Italy, Canada, the Netherlands, Finland, and Latvia have already formalized bilateral agreements with Kyiv.

The pursuit of further alliances sees Ukraine currently in talks with Estonia, Spain, the Czech Republic, and the United States, with discussions progressing. The Presidential Office confirmed the latest round of negotiations with Washington occurring on April 29th.

According to Zelenskyy, drafts of these security agreements are already in progress, aimed at enhancing Ukraine’s security capabilities and fostering stronger partnerships. Emphasizing the importance of protection against Russian aggression, the president highlighted the prioritization of measures to counter Russian threats.

The G7 members unveiled their strategic blueprint for long-term security commitments for Ukraine during the NATO summit in Vilnius last year. As part of this initiative, individual countries are expected to provide bilateral support to assist Kyiv in repelling the ongoing Russian invasion and deterring future acts of aggression.

See all